HeartGnosis











{June 17, 2007}   Hot or Not Chat #1

So I got a double-match on Hot or Not a couple days ago and I wrote to her. Then we exchanged screenames and started chatting last night. We’ll call her “Jenna” and she’s in her early 20’s, fresh out of college with a degree in music. She’s also new to the city I live in.

Unlike lots of people I’ve chatted with recently, Jenna can hold a decent conversation with a level of intelligence. We started off basically introducing ourselves, but (and this is typical) she was talking to several people at once whereas I was not. A touch annoying, but understandable, also. Turns out she’s looking to date casually because she recently got out of an intense two year relationship and hasn’t dated much so far in her life.

Jenna’s on the geekier side, which I can appreciate. We talked about Magic: the Gathering, a card game. She doesn’t own any cards but hinted that she’d like to find someone to play with since she knows how. Then we got into my living situation. Right now I have four roommates, two of whom are female and close to my age. In fact, I share a room with a very close friend of mine who happens to be a girl.

Obviously, that made me look like a creep so I tried explaining that it’s not a sexual or romantic thing. Sure, right? Well, it’s not we’re best friends and that’s that. In order to give her some perspective I went on to explain that my roomie helps me do things I can’t due to my disability. That made some sense to her. Then she offered up a question she considered creepy.

“Even though you’re somewhat paralyzed can you still have sex?”

What the hell?? I never mentioned being paralyzed. This is a frequent assumption people make. It doesn’t irritate me, but I do find it odd. I don’t assume people with very dark skin are from Africa, they might be from the Caribbean or Polynesia or Europe for all I know. But if you say “in a wheelchair” people automatically assume paralysis. I explained that I’m quite capable of sex, I just do it differently.

It doesn’t look to me that Jenna’s anything too up my alley. She likes bands like I don’t know too much about, but she’s still lots of fun. We’ll see where it goes and I’ll keep ya’ll updated, too. That’s about it for this post but there’s lots of today left to go…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
